Thesis Committee Guidelines

SMArchS Thesis Committees

The SMArchS thesis committee is composed of at least two and no more than three members. The thesis supervisor must be a permanent faculty member* of the MIT Department of Architecture. The first reader must be a permanent faculty member of the Department of Architecture or in a related department at MIT. The third member (second reader) may be any member of the MIT faculty or research staff, an outside professional, or a faculty member from another institution. The academic advisor must approve the committee composition.

Co-thesis supervision is permitted as long as one of the supervisors is a permanent member of the Department of Architecture faculty. The other supervisor may be any member of the MIT faculty or research staff, an outside professional, or a faculty member from another institution.

MArch Thesis Committees

The MArch thesis committee is composed of three members. The thesis supervisor must be a permanent faculty member* of the Department of Architecture with an architecture design background. (A list of eligible faculty is available from the degree administrator.) The second and third members may be MIT faculty or research staff, an outside professional, or a faculty member from another institution.

Co-thesis supervision is permitted as long as one of the supervisors is a permanent member of the Department of Architecture faculty with an architecture design background. The other supervisor may be any member of the MIT faculty or research staff, an outside professional, or a faculty member from another institution.

SMACT Thesis Committees

The SMACT thesis committee is composed of at least two and no more than three members. The thesis supervisor must be a permanent faculty member* of the Art, Culture and Technology Program. The first reader must be any permanent faculty member of the Department of Architecture or in a related department at MIT. The third member (second reader) may be any member of the MIT faculty or research staff, an outside professional, or a faculty member from another institution. The thesis advisor must approve the committee composition.

SMBT Thesis

The SMBT student is not expected to have a thesis committee. A research advisor (permanent faculty member* in BT) is assigned at the time of admissions and generally this advisor becomes the thesis supervisor. Readers are optional.

PhD Dissertation Committees

The PhD dissertation committee is comprised of a minimum of three members: one thesis advisor, who also serves as the dissertation committee chair, and two readers.

The thesis supervisor/committee chair must be a permanent faculty member* of the discipline group granting the degree. The first reader must be a permanent member of the MIT faculty. The third member may be any member of the MIT faculty or a faculty member from another institution. A fourth reader is optional and may also be from within or outside the MIT community.

Co-thesis supervision is permitted as long as one of the supervisors is a permanent member of the Department of Architecture faculty. The other supervisor may be any member of the MIT faculty or research staff, an outside professional, or a faculty member from another institution.

^{*} A "permanent faculty member" is a tenured or tenure track assistant, associate or full professor <u>and</u> those members of the academic instructional staff with multiple-year appointments. Visitors and short-term lecturers are not considered permanent faculty.